The original bridge was built between 1904 and 1907 and ceremonially opened to traffic on October 19, 1907. It replaced the previously flourishing ferry service between the two cities and significantly boosted economic development. Towards the end of the Second World War, the bridge was blown up by the German Wehrmacht to halt the advance of the Allied troops. Of the once magnificent Art Nouveau structure, only the distinctive historic bridge towers remain today on the Ruhrort Rhine bank.